We are not separated by an ocean. The ocean is what connects us.

Sailing outrigger canoes called holopuni is a long-held tradition across Polynesia; however, its revival in Aotearoa (New Zealand) is in its infancy. Red Star International, Inc. is seeking donations to purchase a holopuni to preserve the traditional practice of mātangirua – sailing holopuni canoes.

Our traditional practices affirm our cultural identity, community connection and our relationship with the natural environment.

Holopuni are a vehicle for sharing traditional knowledge to promote cultural values, language, and identity, while also developing sailing and safety skills on the ocean.

Traditional sailing practices help youth and community to develop leadership, strengthen belonging and kinship, foster teamwork, and cultivate generosity.

Our interactions with the ocean and marine life emphasize our relationships and responsibilities as guardians to protect and promote the ocean’s health.

Jump In Our Canoe

and have a positive impact

With your support, Red Star can benefit the community by providing programs that:

• Promote traditional knowledge and intergenerational sharing.

• Build youth and community leadership and resilience.

• Increase understanding of, and a sense of responsibility for, the natural environment.

• Strengthen cultural identity and connection.

• Build confidence, skill and safety on the water.



He Waka Eke Noa – A Canoe We Are All In Together

December 17, 2020 at5:30pm PT/6:30pm MT/7:30pm CT/8:30pm ET

Featuring a presentation by traditional Māori voyager, Frank Kawe. Frank will share his experiences sailing across the Pacific to relearn and revitalize the traditional arts of waka ama (outrigger canoe) and waka hourua (voyaging canoe) in Aotearoa/New Zealand and Hawaii over the past 20 years. Hailing from Tauranga, New Zealand, Frank has sailed and trained with the world’s renowned celestial navigators and waka captains from across Micronesia/Polynesia to uphold their legacy and voyaging traditions.


Our goal is to raise $30,000 by December 31, 2020 to purchase a canoe. The Red Star Board of Directors is collectively committing 10% towards our goal at $3000 to kick-off the fundraiser.